E D I T I O N S  P R O  M U S I C A  S P I R I T U S
Publishers of fine editions of early music for solists, ensembles, and educators


Note: sound samples are synthesised by computer and do not represent live performances.

Click on the above image to download sample pages of this edition.

Suite des Eaux
onatina for viol consort in C Major

Composer: T.H. Richards (1951– )

Date: 2016

Key: C Major

Form: Sonatina in three movements for consort of four viols

Style: Neo-Baroque

Scoring: Treble Viol I, Treble Viol II, Tenor Viol, Bass Viol (seven-string French viol)

Source: Composer's fair copy (original digital file).

Editorial Category: Urtext edition, edited by the composer.

Contents: Composer's commentary, full score, and four instrumental parts (20 pages total).

Comments: This work was written for the 2016 Traynor competition of the VDGSA (Viola da Gamba Society of America), and under the rules of that competition it was conceived specifically for strong intermediate or advanced amateur viol players. It is nonetheless far more interesting to play than the usual 'intermediate' work, offering developing players an opportunity to show their abilities without demanding virtuoso technique. (Please see the composer's commentary in the sample pages for a more detailed description of the technical requirements.)

The piece is short–just under 5 minutes if played at the suggested tempi–so it makes an excellent addition to the encore repertoire of professional consorts performing in concert.


($15.95 plus shipping)

Includes full score, four instrumental parts, and an eco-friendly music folder.

To order your copy of Suite des Eaux, please begin by choosing a
shipping destination




Principal Editorial and Production Offices
Mont-Tremblant, Quebec

Associate Editorial and Research Offices
Montreal, Quebec; River Hills, Manitoba; Dusseldorf, Germany

New York, N.Y.
Web Services
Oceanside, California